Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Practicing Recording

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Chris Fitzgerald, May 24, 2002.

1. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    As some of you know, recording is a kind of hobby of mine, and one which will keep me occupied for many years to come. I firmly believe that recording is every bit as much an artform as playing, and I understand that no one person can expect to master either, let alone both. Having said that, I've had some interesting experiences lately that I'd like to share, and maybe some of you have done some of these same things and will have some useful information to add.

In the past few weeks, I've updated my recording gear so that I'll have some headroom (equipment-wise) to grow into once the little one arrives and the obligatory MORATORIUM ON GEAR SPENDING takes effect. Since the new gear (new computer, mixing board, audio interface, a couple of mics, etc) arrived, I've been doing most of my practicing through various mics (run flat through the board) with headphones on. I started doing this to learn more about the characteristics of the individual mics and placement issues, but I ended up learning a whole bunch about how my bass really sounds from various vantage points out in front of me while I'm playing, and what happens to acoustic bass sound as it moves further out from the sound source.