Practise Time

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by oneoftheway, Apr 18, 2004.

1. oneoftheway

Nov 27, 2002
    Hey guys,

I was wondering, when you guys were younger undiscovered musicans how much time did you put into your instrument daily?

2. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    Hi Cody,

My practice time has varied greatly through my playing life - when I started playing I played for hours and hours a day, though very little of it was of the useful practice type - most of it was me playing tunes by The Cure and The Pixies through a distortion pedal :)

When I went to music college, I was again playing for hours a day - some of it solo practice, lots of it practice in a band setting.

Since then, it's varied from up to about five hours day to nothing, depending on what else is going on in my music life - when I'm gigging a lot I don't often get to practice as much as I'd like, but in the run up to recording a new album, I tend to get back into a heavy practice schedule.

3. I'm not sure if it's a myth, but I've heard that the more "seasoned" you are as a muso, the lazier you get at practicing because the physical aspect of playing has already been mastered. And when I mean "seasoned", that's probably 25 years plus of playing to excell. :bassist:

But who knows, it's probably just a myth though.........
  4. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.