1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pre amp/amp help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Moby Rick, Dec 27, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Moby Rick

Moby Rick

Jan 29, 2017
    So I am a total newb when it comes to amps, pre amps etc. So I have very little knowledge on sound and set up of these.

I am the fortunate receiver of a new pre amp that I am excited about. But I have like I said very little knowledge in this dept. So if my Fender 200 has a pre amp built in, can I use this new pre amp with it or do I have to buy a new cabinet for the pre amp?

I don't want to start plugging stuff in like an idiot and do it all wrong. So some advice would be helpful. And please be gentle.

BadExample likes this.
  2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Likely yes.

However, it would help if you give us specifics about your amp, preamp and bass.

BadExample likes this.
  3. Moby Rick

Moby Rick

Jan 29, 2017
    Of course.
    Amp - Fender Rumble 200
    Pre Amp - Sans Amp Tech 21 Ged 2112
    Bass - For the most part a Fender Jazz or Precision.

4. HI Newbie.

In general... IN GENERAL... (please read all appropriate manuals first) The Fender Rumble 200 has an effects loop.
    SEND - RETURN 1/4" jacks.
    These two jacks are electrically connected together, just as if there was a cable between the two.
    This SENDS the pre-amp signal to the amp through this connection.
    You can SEND THE Rumble's PRE-amp signal to another power amp.
    You can send an external pre-amp to the Rumble power amp using the RETURN Jack.

Bim1959 and Mushroo like this.
  5. Moby Rick

Moby Rick

Jan 29, 2017
    Ok, I will give this an attempt. Thank you.

FYI the pre amp manual really was little help on this matter. The amp manual I will look up online.