1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pre Amp Suggestions

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by TinIndian, Apr 16, 2011.

1. TinIndian

TinIndian Supporting Member

Jan 25, 2011
    Micco Florida
    I have an '86 Peavey Foundation S (P and J config) that I bought new. About a month after I picked it up I bought a Dimarzio active setup, pups and preamp (no idea what model anymore), for it. Played it for a number of years before I "retired". I recently started playing bass again and was using this as my backup. Everything was fine but now the preamp has died.

My question is, can I just replace the preamp or do I need to replace the Pups too? I know most preamps run on 9 volts but this Dimarzio system runs on a couple of watch batteries at I think 6 volts. If I need to replace the pups too thats alright, Just don't want to put a new preamp in that's not compatable and burn it up and be back at square one.

2. Slowgypsy

Slowgypsy 4 Fretless Strings

Dec 12, 2006
    NY & MA
    No reason I can think of that you can't just replace the preamp.

3. TinIndian

Jan 25, 2011
    Micco Florida
    How about a Bartolini NTMB 3.4 or NTBT 3.3. Anyone have experience with either of those?

4. Slowgypsy

Dec 12, 2006
    NY & MA
    They're very different preamps. You need to figure out if you want 2-band or 3-band. You also need to figure out if you want to be able to run your bass passive.

I recently got a custom instrument delivered. It has the NTBT 3.3 preamp and Bartolini soapbars. Acoustically this instrument is rather dark sounding, and I'm finding that Bart soapbars have a warm tendency to them, and I'm told Bart preamps have a somewhat warm bias. For me, this all adds up to not what I want this instrument to sound like.