Pre and Power amp clip?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by scubahood427, Feb 3, 2001.

1. scubahood427

Apr 13, 2000
    I have a fender bassman 100, and i pretty much have to turn it up to about 8 or 9 to get as much sound as my drummer. But when i do that, these two red lights come on when i play and they say preamp clip and poweramp clip. now i have no idea what this means. Does it mean im gonna blow out the amp or something?
  2. cb56

Jul 2, 2000
    Central Illinois
    I'll be watching this thread also to see what all the tech heads have to say. I've been playing for about 20 years and never did quite understand clipping. I know that if you send too hot of a signal to your pre amp the little red light goes on and off and supposedly that's not good for your amp or speakers. But I use kind of a hard attack when I play and it seemes like the red light comes on with the attack not the sustain of the note so is that all that bad? Also my Ampeg has another light by the output stage called a limiter thatdoesn't come on much but I think the limiter is supposed to protect the speakers from all that bad clipping so maybe I shouldn't worry about it
  3. White_Knight

Mar 19, 2000