1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Pre vs Post Ernie Ball?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RHCP250, Apr 23, 2009.

1. RHCP250

RHCP250

Nov 24, 2008
    What is the difference between the pre and post ernie ball stingrays?

2. Marlat

Marlat

Sep 17, 2002
    London UK
    The years they were in production.

/thread.

3. waynobass

waynobass

Feb 27, 2008
    Texas
    The spelling of his first name.

4. The main differences are the neck joint and the neck finishes:
    Pre EB: microtilt, gloss poly
    Post EB: 6 bolt, gunstock oil

These are just the most basic and obvious as I'm not an expert.
    Do some searches on TB and google, you'll find everything there is to know!
    Peace
    :bassist:

5. The pre ones were better if you like Pre ones. But the post ones are best more post liking people.

6. Mainly, I think, the preamp. Older ones mostly have 2-eq, I think? Newer ones will have 3 Eq (except older newers one have 2). or You can get newer ones with 2.

Confused yet?

7. all i know is that i've heard that the pre EB's were "better"
    that's just and opinion i heard though.

8. Papersen

Papersen Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2002
    Well, you can actually order new ones with 2band EQ.
    Pre EB also came string thru body bridges and original preamp was modded even during the Pre EB era.

One correction: Since Ernie Ball still owns the company I guess there`s no "Post Ernie Ball", right ?

You can check those differences here:
    http://www.musicmanbass.org

9. Caca de Kick

Caca de Kick Supporting Member

Nov 18, 2002
    Seattle / Tacoma
    The preEB Rays' have slab (non contoured) bodies. While the EB Rays have contoured bodies. If you're talking about single H Rays, the EB usually has the 3eq, but you can still order the 2eq preamp.

Basically, the preEB: