1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Preamp mini-shootout..Ashdown vs. Demeter vs. Eden

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by HotRatz, Apr 15, 2006.

1. HotRatz

HotRatz Guest

Mar 13, 2003
    Portland, OR
    Ok folks, it's finally time. I bought a while back a used Bergantino HT210/HT115 stack, which I'm been pushing...attempting to push...with my 'little' Ashdown ABM 300. Well, I am about to take the dive and get a separate pre/power amp setup. I think the QSC RMX 2450 will be in the engine room - I can get one for $399 used. yep.....I'm a student, with budget to match. :D

Ok, here's where I humbly ask for the opinion and experience of all who might know or care, or care to know. With this power amp and cab combination.......which preamp would you all favor??? :confused:

Ashdown RPM / Demeter VTBP-201S / Eden Navigator

Here's my thoughts on each, in stream-of-consciousness order:

Ashdown: my current sound, high variability, wish I had something like an Enhance knob at times, two rack spaces, fun stuff like variable distortion and footswitchable subharmonizer. Groovy VU meter. No balanced outputs. Somewhere between vintage and modern tones, leaning toward vintage, but a flexible, unique personality. Not a lot of guys around here (Portland, OR) seem to be using them, for whatever reason. I hear again and again (and would have to agree even from my underpowered-amp assessment) that Bergs and Ashdown are a natural match.

Demeter: soo clean, soo smooth. One rack space. Kickass Jensen DI. Super-simple layout. What I like about this one is the simplicity of operation and directness of tone...sometimes the Ashdown sound seems mushy (which is probably just my underpowering of the cabs) and, um, indirect. Overall, clean and simple, with top-notch components.