1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

preamp pedal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Muskie59, Apr 18, 2021.

1. Muskie59

Muskie59

Jan 19, 2021
    As i've stated ad nauseam, i'm new to the wonderful world of bass pedals. I hear that having a preamp pedal can be advantages to shape your tone. I record with some friends and i plug directly into the board and he tweaks and adds certain things to my sound the likes of which i have no clue about. My question (at last) is would it be redundant to have a preamp if he does all that tweaking anyway or is having one a good thing to have anyway? Thanks for any advice you fine gentlemen might have.

2. 2saddleslab

2saddleslab Supporting Member

May 30, 2003
    Kentucky
    I'd want to know what kind of signal I'm sending to the board, before any tweaking. Since I'm well familiar w/ Ampeg tone stack, I use an SCR-DI [and a couple pedals] as a good foundation before the board.
    IMG_2701.jpg

Bass4Brkfast, Dubious Aa and Muskie59 like this.
  3. Aloe

Aloe

Apr 10, 2016
    Ukraine
    the occasions I didn't regret I got a preamp is when sound man refuses to cooperate. like when you try to convince him 'give me more high end, it's essential for our sound' and he ignores it again and again. then I just make the EQ adjustments on my preamp and hope the soundman is too lazy to undo them.

if you're okay with your soundman and like the resulting sound, you have no need for these knobs on your side.

Muskie59 likes this.
  4. Skybone

Skybone

Jun 20, 2016
    Scotland
    With a pre-amp pedal, you have the opportunity to get a sound you like before going into the board, and it should minimise the amount of tweaking that needs to be done.

Things to remember though...