1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Preamp question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JDjbass, Aug 27, 2007.

1. JDjbass

JDjbass

Aug 24, 2007
    956 TX
    So Ive recently been looking at amps and although i have been playing bass for about 5 years now I am still not sure what a preamp exactly does? Does it shape tone more then whats available on your amp or head? Is there any way to play with a preamp that runs through a cab? Any help would be great thanks for the time :bassist:

2. JDjbass

JDjbass

Aug 24, 2007
    956 TX
    anyone?

3. DanielleMuscato

DanielleMuscato

Jun 19, 2004
    Columbia, Missouri, USA
    Endorsing Artist, Schroeder Cabinets
    Try the Search function.

I'll help you out this time: A bass rig consists of a bass, a preamp, a power amp, and a cab. Sometimes, the preamp and poweramp are combined into one box, which is then called a head. If the preamp, power amp, and cab are ALL in the same box, which would be called a "combo."

A lot of bassists prefer to use a separate preamp and poweramp, because it gives you a lot more flexibility in your rig. On the other hand, it's easier to transport (and sometimes easier to get a good tone and faster to set up) a head.

Some examples of preamps are the Alembic FX-1, the Line6 Bass POD, or the Sansamp BDDI. These would either be run directly into a PA, or a mixer (for recording), or you can run them into a power amp (like a Crown, Crest, QSC), and then into a cabinet (for a live setup).

- Dave

4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs