1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

precision ´78?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SweDB, Sep 28, 2009.

1. SweDB

SweDB

Aug 4, 2008
    Hi everybody.
    I just wondered about this fender precision ´78 (or is it?) and the wood work on it, to me it seems the body could have been remade, if you look at the body it seems there are 3 different boards.
    Maybe it is suppose to be that way, I am not a fender expert so it would be nice with some comments from you guys that have all the knowledge in the world =)

I have also heard that the (S8) series where made even in the eighties. If that is true, how would I know what year it really was produced?

Thanks in advance/ERIK

PS. I know that the pictures are not the most brilliant, but it was the best i could get. (the bass is not mine... YET) DS.

Attached Files:

2. J. Crawford

J. Crawford

Feb 15, 2008
    OH/WV
    It looks like it was once a different color, and stripped. Thats why it has nonmatching woods.

3. king_biscuit

king_biscuit Supporting Member

May 21, 2006
    US
    If that is the original body, it has been stripped and refinished natural.

4. johnk_10

johnk_10 vintage bass nut Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 16, 2008
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    John K Custom Basses
    AFAIK, NO 80's fenders were made with "S8" serial numbers.

that bass looks correct to me, other than it may have been refinished as previously said by J. Crawford.

5. FranF

FranF Supporting Member

Jul 25, 2004
    Northeastern PA