1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Precision bass and slapping?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Demon, Apr 14, 2006.

1. Demon

Demon

Mar 17, 2006
    Sweden, Stockholm
    Its like this, i bought a Precision bass when i started playing, cos im into metal and all that and often uses P. But now i heard that Flea does slapping, so that means slapping must work in music i like (RHCP) so it might work with rock, so i listened to some video, and it just sounds kick***. Ive played some iron maiden songs myself, but it aint all that fun since it doesnt really sound "interesting" when not used in a band, as its more to add rhytm and punch etc (tho AC/DC has more of a songish style tho)And probably its more interesting once i get a real amp, cos i mostly hear the strings(using computer speakers) anyway, theres alot more too it, and i wanna learn slap/pop too to keepmy views oepn. but to the point, does slapping work with a P bass well?
    Also, any chance it might work with classic rock? or metal ? has it been tried before?

2. Slapping sounds great on a P bass - it's thicker and fatter than on a J or Musicman. However, it's probably not what you're used to hearing. You might like the sound or you might hate it, but either way, its character comes from where the pickup is placed. The rest of the bass is essentially identical to a J or MM or anything else - you can slap whatever you want. Ignoring tone, the P slaps just as well as any other bass. I'd recommend sticking with your P until you get good enough at slapping, and then make a decision on the tone. Slapping will sound bad on any bass if you don't have your technique down.

3. phxlbrmpf

phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    Germany
    Yes, on hundreds of recordings back in the day. :eyebrow: