1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Precision Bass Dilemma - Help Needed

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Misterwogan, Oct 4, 2013.

1. I have three basses:
    1 - 2011 Am Std Precision
    2 - 2011 Am Std Jazz
    3 - 2006 MM Stingray 4

I bought the P-Bass almost a year ago when I started playing, the Jazz in July and the Ray two weeks ago.

Since I got the Jazz and most recently the Ray, I finding that I'm just not playing the P anymore.

I'll pick it up and very quickly decide that the Jazz will do a better job on a given piece - even for the Blues, I'm preferring the Jazz tone and very definitely the neck.

Then along came the Stingray and it has become my default bass for pretty much everything due its comfort and versatility (yes, it works great even for the Blues).

So the P is staying in its case unfortunately.

I really don't want to sell it as it's a wonderful example and looks awesome, Black with Black Pickguard and Maple Fretboard. Also, next year I hope to do some gigs and am sure that I'll probably need a P - maybe just to look the part.

So my question is:
    What sort of music can I play that really MUST be played with a Precision?

Stuff that I play now...
    Blues (Stormy Monday, Sweet Home Chicago etc)
    Funk Rock (Chic, George Benson)
    Elvis (All the boogie based songs)
    Disco (Disco Inferno, Boogie Wonderland etc)

I tend not to play anything that involves solely banging away on the root.

2. TwoRivers

TwoRivers

Aug 26, 2012
    Las Cruces, NM
    Based on what you've said - If you play to make great music, play the Jazz. If you play to look cool and impress others visually, play the P.

Not really much else to add after reading your post...

3. fishtx

fishtx Supporting Member

Mar 30, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Endorsing Artist: Genzler Amplification/Spector Basses/Mojo Hand FX
    huh??

4. StevieMac

StevieMac