1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Precision Bass: How much tone do you dial in?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by novo, Dec 29, 2015.

1. novo

novo

Feb 20, 2007
    Precision Bass: How much tone do you dial in?

I like it half way through since when I max out all the tone knob, it sounds kinda trebly.

What are yours??

Eric66 likes this.
  2. twinjet

twinjet Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Sep 23, 2008
    As a jazz bassist I like to roll the tone completely to the left for more thump. I adjust my plucking position to go for a more acoustic-like tone.

Anything else gets all the way to the right.

2cooltoolz and amusicalperson like this.
  3. mouthmw

mouthmw

Jul 19, 2009
    Croatia
    For my P with flats - Around 3/4 open. I usually play around with it, can go to about half. For certain songs (actually, only parts of songs), I roll it all the way off. I rarely ever crank it up all the way (sometimes for that old school slap tone, but even then I could roll it off a bit).
    EMG GZR pup reacts really great with the tone knob. I love getting different tones ouf of my P just with that tone control.

Eric66, TC424, Shawn Luckman and 4 others like this.
  4. swarfrat

swarfrat

Sep 23, 2014
    Tape wounds and a pick, wide open. It gets the semi-articulate p-bass thud pretty nicely. When playing round wounds, I usually roll it about halfway down until it starts to change dramatically, then back it off a smidge.

Last edited: Dec 29, 2015
    R&B likes this.
  5. On the '77, gotta be tone and vol all the way up, and tickle the tone elsewhere. On the Squier, all the way up is too tinney, and better to roll off to about 7.

6. /\/\3phist0

/\/\3phist0 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) mmm Woody! Supporting Member

1/2 to wide open and in between. I try and find the magic spot where the top sparkle is muted and the next spot where the mid hump shows up. :)