1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Precision convert

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JoeVictim, Apr 27, 2010.

1. I got my SX PJ, more P than J (neck and body8 are Precision dimensions with just a single coil at the bridge), last year for Father's Day. Well, it's been such a great sounding instrument. I felt like after playing it for almost a year, I have some good experience in being able to judge it now. Being a Jazz player exclusively since I started playing bass, 14 years ago, I find my Jazz sounding thin and tiny. But, I find my SX neck being pretty big. My hand actually cramps up after playing it for a while.

I have heard only a P sounds like a P, so is there a bass that captures that great tone but doesn't have the wide neck? At what point do you sacrifice comfort for tone?

2. Double Agent

Double Agent

Mar 10, 2006
    Lakeland, FL
    The Lakland Duck Dunn model. It is, essentially, a P-bass with a Jazz neck. Played side-by-side with a Fender MIM Classic 50s and Fender Am. Std., it was more of a polite and refined P-bass than the Fenders. I prefer the more ballsy, in-your-face tone of the Fenders.

But, at the end of the day, to some, feel is more important than tone, and the Duck Dunn has one of the nicest feeling necks I've ever played on a P-style bass. The tone isn't bad on it either, just not aggressive enough for my liking.

3. Same problem here. I have bilateral tendenosis and have found the Jazz neck most forgiving (in the Fender line). If you want a PJ there are a fair amount made with Jazz type necks. Although passive seems a little harder to find. As far as a straight P goes there are fewer choices with thinner necks. They're out there if one is flexible as far as brand. You may not have to sacrifice comfort for tone. Good Luck.