Precision vs. Jazz - "Sitting in the Mix"

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ChadPaulJones, Apr 5, 2013.

1. ChadPaulJones

ChadPaulJones

Aug 8, 2012
    I've see a recurring comment in a number of different threads regarding the age old debate of Precision vs. Jazz. The comment I'm referring to is "P's sit better in the mix". When this comment is made are people speaking primarily of a live setting, sudio setting or both? Also, whereas P's dominated in the 50's and 60's havent' J's become the more prominent bass of choice? I'd love to hear some expert opinions.

2. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Gold Supporting Member

The sitting in a mix factor is purely opinion. I'm no expert, but I've been playing for over three decades. I happen to be a P guy and I do think P-basses sound better in the mix -- but I also think they sound better out of the mix, and for any purpose including slap! J-bass players will of course prefer J-basses.

J-basses are more popular because they have two pickups and therefore offer a wider variety of tones. Also, they provide the most popular slap tone.

P-basses started in 1951, J-basses not until a decade later, and it took awhile for their popularity to exceed the P-bass, which "Fender bassists" had adopted as the standard.

3. Old Fart

Old Fart

Mar 11, 2011
    Well put.

I have, at times, struggled to get my J to bite through the mix and have 'presence' in a live show. In those instances, the way to get it done is indeed to make the J 'bite' through using its superior high-mid and treble capabilities. Alternatively, one can sometimes also crank the low mids and bass, and achieve this.

The P never has a problem. It doesn't need to 'bite' through any mixes. It sits in its own sonic space where it reigns supreme. That space is the midrange. The P can be tweeked to extend into deep bass or higher tones, but it OWNS the midrange.