Predict the next direction/fashion for Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by matthewfoote, Jan 22, 2004.

1. Predict the next direction/fashion for Basses

We have had fancy tops and also single cuts.

What do people think will be the new direction for basses this year?

What are the new things that people are asking their luthiers to build for them?

2. Lewk

Oct 19, 2003
    26 strings!!!
  3. Wishnevsky basses will soon be THE schnitz.

4. Mud Flaps

Mud Flaps

Feb 3, 2003
    Norton, MA
    There are a lot of new basses coming out now with MM/J and MM/MM configurations. I bet you soon there will be a lot more basses manufactured with this design in a few months.

Also, the popularity of cheaper neck-thrus are rising. Schecter, Samick, and Peavey are just a few who will be releasing a new, cheap neck through this year.

Finally, as always, the popularity of multi-string basses is rising. We'll probably see the popularity of 5's, 6's, and 7's continue to rise.

I'm no expert, but I am fairly certain of these three trends.
  5. JPJ

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago, IL
    I'm seeing three major trends right now that are very interesting. The first is that high-end builders are following the lead of many larger brand names who are offering an extremely high-quality, but more affordable, line of instruments. A couple of the luthiers that I represent at Blueberry Hill are in the process of offering an "entry level" line of basses that are still hand-crafted one-at-a-time, but keep prices VERY reasonable by limiting options, keeping the wood choices fairly simple, and limiting the amount of fancy laminations and intricate hand-carving. These basses will offer an outstanding value and are all hand-made in the good ole U.S. of A (except for the Sadowsky basses that are made in Tokyo).