1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Preferred tuss rod for full time builders

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by tjclem, Jul 22, 2012.

1. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    I have been using the dual action LMI truss rod for several years now and after having the Allen wrench strip out the socket on one neck I wanted to se what other options were out there.

What I am looking for has to be dual action and I don't care for the Stew mac spoke type. Any suggestions? Thanks

2. I am not full time, in fact I am just building my first bass, but as a player, I really like how easy the stu mac spoke ones are to use and adjust.

lowsound

3. Jazzdogg

Jazzdogg Less barking, more wagging!

Jul 29, 2006
    San Diego, CA
    Out of curiosity, what is it about the spoke-type truss rod adjusters that you dislike?

4. Markpotato

Markpotato

Jul 19, 2012
    Eureka Springs, AR
    Luthier, Sorrentino Guitars
    Not a full time builder yet but I'll give you my two cents. I like LMI and Allied Luthierie double action rods. They were actually both designed by the same guy, who designs some even fancier ones now. I don't like the Stewmac rods because they require a deeper route and I like my necks thin and flat.

I mainly like the double action rods because I don't have to route a curved channel. Haven't made a jig for that yet, maybe I will some day.

Did you use the right size allen wrench? Right size should not strip it unless it's not in all the way. Does the rod poke out enough to do this? Also helps to loosen all the strings obviously, as there will be less force required to turn the rod (that's the way you're supposed to do it anyway).

5. garmenteros

garmenteros Bass Enthusiast Supporting Member