1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Preventing an EBay Scam?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by IotaNet, Mar 25, 2006.

1. To the Group -

I am a web designer/Internet consultant and I have been asked by a famous (even legendary!) bassist to assist him in selling a bass via EBay -- specifically, he wants me to create a believeable listing that will not scream "POTENTIAL SCAM."

Since we have a lot of folks here on TB that frequent the bay, I'd like to solicit your feedback on the best way to craft the listing. For what it's worth, I am not making any money on this -- I was approached because I am Internet-savvy but he is not.

I will tell you that the bass is not "vintage" but it will be pretty expensive -- upper four-figures. I need to make sure that the listing will be credible and will assure EBayers that it is legit.

I welcome your feedback!

2. maybe a pic of the player with the bass?
    maybe a certificate of authenticity?
    i would see if you can get some pics of the player with the bass that you can't get anywhere, like the player with bass showing the serial number or something?
    Do you have to mention that the player owned the bass? (well, probably, because if he really is as good as you say, it should get him some extra $$ :))

3. Greenman

Greenman

Dec 17, 2005
    Ontario Canada
    Keep in mind possitive feedback meens alot on Ebay. Somebody with zero feedback may have problems selling a high end item.

Regards

4. FWIW, he has his own Ebay account.

5. Herman

Herman

Dec 25, 2005
    Lynchburg, VA
    Maybe you could post a link to a video clip of him with the bass, talking about it, playing a few licks, mention eBay, etc.

6. guy n. cognito

guy n. cognito Secret Agent Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    Lots of pictures. Front, back, sides.