1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Preventive Maintenance

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Typicality, Mar 13, 2008.

1. Typicality

Typicality

Dec 4, 2007
    Good morning to all,

I've lurked here for awhile absorbing as much information as I could. However I have yet to find a good PM thread on taking care of your bass.

I just started playing about 6 months ago. I went from not knowing what a fret was to being able to play a few songs.

At most I am a hobbyist player. I got introduced to the bass from two friends who play guitar and drums every weekend together. Both have provided many tips and tons of encouragement.

I've just purchased my second bass ( a squier p bass special which is another story unto its own).

I own a Fullerton Deluxe Ash 4 string I got second hand and love how it sounds. With my new bass which was a damaged (the pickguard was warped) I am having them put flatwound fenders on it while its getting the frets deburred on the neck area and installing a new pick guard.

Anyway enough story telling. What I was wondering is what's a good way to prolong the life and sound of my basses. Is there special areas I should clean regularly and how should I clean it.

So far I've just making sure I keep it as clean as possible, when not in use I keep it in its case and I take a lint free cloth and wiping the strings. Making sure I wiped down my frets and keeping any type of gunk out of the fret areas.

I've made a few newb mistakes like overturning my keys to keep my bass in tune and of course snapped them. Which was good because it gave me a lesson how to restring my bass and tune it. I actually went through 2 string packs doing it.