1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Price point for a professional bass guitar?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by George Ortega, Jul 29, 2020 at 5:55 PM.

1. George Ortega

George Ortega

Wednesday
    In a year or two, I'd like to try to work as a session bassist. Right now, I play basses that retail for $200 and under. I'd like to buy a "professional" bass, but would rather not spend any more than I have to. Generally speaking, what's the minimum retail price for a professional grade bass guitar? Thanks.

2. LastJaguar

LastJaguar

Oct 10, 2019
    Absolute newbie amateur—pretty sure it’s not the bass; it’s the bassist.

3. Compared to the electric basses of 40-50 years ago, the standards for what constitutes professional grade have definitely gone up. But, the price for that same quality, has come down. The basses you have in your current price range, can do anything you need to be professional. As long as it holds together while you play it, you can sound ‘professional’.

gebass6, hrodbert696, geof_ and 10 others like this.
  4. saltydude

saltydude

Aug 15, 2011
    boston CANADA
    I usually find decent working nice basses typically start around the $900-$1200 mark. The term Professional Bass really puts a weird twist on It. Too many different ways to put that into perspective. A pro can be proficient on any bass regardless of its cost, and they do.

Tim Schnautz, Mili, KJMO and 10 others like this.
  5. Sean150

Sean150

Jul 18, 2018