1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Pro Steels vs. Pressurewounds

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Kipp Harrington, Dec 5, 2018 at 11:22 AM.

1. I am seriously considering getting a set of GHS Pressurewounds. I have a set of D'Addario Pro Steels on my Squier PJ and really like them. However, I have heard that they beat up your frets pretty fast. Also, some people have complained about the high tension - they don't bother me tension-wise. I was just wondering if anyone could give me a "real world" tension between the Pro Steels and the Pressurewounds. Thanks!

Spidey2112 and BrentSimons like this.
  2. I have no experience with D'A Pro Steels, but plenty of experience with the XL Nickels.

In terms of stiffness/flexibility and overall playing feel, they're pretty close, comparing the PW ML7200 (44-58-80-102) and the D'A EXL170BT (45-60-80-107).

There is a noticeable difference, however, in their surface texture, the PW being quite a bit smoother in feel.

Arthur U. Poon likes this.
  3. Pressurewounds sort of sound like a broken in stainless steel roundwound initially. If you are into the increased high end twang/zing of a stainless steel roundwound there are many options out there if you're not into the Pro Steels. I like them as they seem to last or stay bright for a long time. They wont eat up your frets any faster than any other stainless roundwound so dont worry about that. :) If you bend your strings a lot or pound on the strings with your attack the frets will let you know. There are several companies that offer a low tension SS roundwound, DR Hi Beams and Dunlop Superbrights immediately come to mind. Lots of options!
    Take care,
    Brent

Spidey2112, sawzalot, Jewce and 2 others like this.
  4. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone. Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2000