Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Problem playing with fingers

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Skystriker, Aug 21, 2000.

1. Skystriker

Skystriker

Aug 2, 2000
    Hi, I have been playing bass off and on for about 6 years.I play really well with a pick and get really good tone.I have tried on several occasions to start playing with just fingers but it always sounds like total crap. Terrible tone,
    very muddy sound like im not getting a good firm hit on the strings like I do with a pick.What am I doing wrong?

Skystriker

David

2. nanook

nanook

Feb 9, 2000
    Alaska
    What is muddy to some people is round to others. What is sterile to some is crisp to others.

It all depends on what you want to hear and what your style of music calls for.

The pick style is fine, don't worry about it.

3. pkr2

pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    David, I'll bet that you are a pretty decent guitar player or you were taught bass or influenced by a guitar player.
    The only reason I don't usually use a pick on bass is called attack and decay in a note. Using a pick makes the attack appear right on the leading edge of the note. Using the pad of your finger levels the note out. It's the same as a finger picker hitting a note accidently with a fingernail. I really don't see a problem with using a felt pick. I finger pick only but I'd probably be faster with a pick. After all, Ive never heard anyone tremolo a bass line.

Bottom line, whatever floats your boat. I've seen fantastic players play both ways.

4. Deicide666

Deicide666

May 1, 2000
    Never heard tremolo with fingers? Come listen to me play. Listen to old Morbid angel, plenty of finger-tremolo action.

5. pkr2

pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    I'd love to hear you play. Your profile doesn't have your location. Where could I hear you?