1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Problem(s),problem(s)....What to do??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by millsbass5, Oct 12, 2009.

1. Let's see.I started playing bass guitar Christmas of 1978.I was in the 6th grade.

Ever since,I've been dead serious about learning all I can about the instrument,and bass-related gear.But,not so much the tech-side of things,(Freq. response,harmonic dist. in an amp,etc.,etc.).I just can't make myself privy to that stuff.

After 12 years of solid "stick my nose to the ol' grindstone playing/practicing," (9 of those first 12 years gigging in bars,yes,at age 15!/practicing),I was left with "wanting more".SO,ENTER THE 5-STRING BASS!!

I'm proud to say that pretty much everything that I've desired to accomplish on the instrument,I have.Well,with the exception of the "fantasy-laden" multi-million dollar record deal,roadies,and mucho groupies (that ALL US GIGGING bassists wish for at a 3:00 a.m. load-out!!).I'm WAY past that,at age 43!!I do it now for the sheer love of music and,the instrument that "chose" me.

Don't get me wrong now.I'm not claiming to be a "complete,master/be all,end all,bass-guru".I just consider myself a solid,versatile,bottom-dweller (by choice,you shredders!!I can slap'n'tap w/confidence),groove-oriented player,that can pretty much "fake" his way through just about anything thrown his way.All without batting an eye,if the situation should arise.That's from a LOT of improvised/off-the-cuff jams and club gigs over the years,kids.I don't care what anybody says:IT HELPS!!!.Debate me all you want on that.I'll win that debate every time!!