1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Problem with Alembic preamp

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by 2funkyfinger, Apr 10, 2010.

1. 2funkyfinger

2funkyfinger

Feb 1, 2004
    Hi

I have an Alembic Rogue 6 that I have been using for a few years. Recently, it developed a rather pronounced hissing sound when my Q knob is turn to the max. There is also an intermittent cracking sound when the bass is plugged in.

I've tried to change batteries, opened the cavity to ensure that the quick connectors are properly fastened within the preamp. Unfortunately, this problem still persists.

I've written to Alembic twice, and there has been no response from them so far. I was wondering if any one has any advice on what I can do to fix this preamp issue?

Thanks for your time!
    2.f.f.

2. Arthur U. Poon

Arthur U. Poon

Jan 30, 2004
    SLC, Utah -USA-
    Endorsing Artist: Mike Lull Custom Basses
    IME it's best to contact Alembic via the telephone.

I had a noise problem with my Europa years ago. Ron was able to diagnose the problem right over the phone. I was sent a bottle of the silver conductive paint that they use for shielding. My local tech painted in the upper sides of my pickup routes with the paint, as per Ron, and the bass is now dead quiet.

You can also post your bass' noise problem on the forum at Alembic's website. Mica is very active on the forum and many of the members are very knowledeable on all things Alembic.

Best of luck, Art

3. malthumb

malthumb

Mar 25, 2001
    The Motor City
    Totally agree with the "call rather than email" approach and the post to the Alembic Club approach. Mica, Susan, and Ron mean well and try to address email, but with all the Alembic Club activity as well as building instruments, a lot of email falls through the cracks. I've always been able to reach Mica by phone and get questions answered.