Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Problem With Being Defamed On Other Bass Forum

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by jgbass, Apr 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jgbass

jgbass Guest

Dec 17, 2003
    I am not going to name names here, even though my name is being spread all over this other forum, but I am wondering how one protects themselves from defamatory comments, cruel and untrue character descriptions, etc. Some of the poison being flung my way includes a misperception that I am "emailing people on this and other forums with some slanderous email." The person who owns this forum is also the moderator and thus has complete control over the content of the forum. Despite contacting this individual, they refuse to remove this content and have not sent requested examples of "slanderous" (wrong term here, yes) e-mails.

I am a professional person and I know very well what constitutes defamation and know none of that is truly going on here on my behalf. Other labels applied to me include "looney-tunes", "stalker", "sad-soul" and "bent on doing bad things" and these things are, obviously, outright defamation, especially since it is being published to an audience.

I have filed several Abuse Report to the IP, but they can't move forward until I take legal action. I'm a busy person, my music has really been taking off recently, and I don't want to spend my time on this endeavor, however, I'm afraid I will need to.

I think it is pathetic that other individuals, who can't respond to another's kind request to resolve conflict would resort to this. I think it will really hurt this person's forum membership anyway. Does anyone have any experience with doing something about this. Thank you.

2. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000