1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Problem with my Badass II

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Low_End_Theory, Mar 5, 2008.

1. Low_End_Theory

Low_End_Theory

Mar 5, 2008
    Hey everyone! I'm new here, and it's good to have finally found a big bass community. I have been playing for about 4 months, and I just got a Badass II bridge. Unfortunately, it's ungrooved. Any suggestions on filing? Thanks!

2. Sean Baumann

Sean Baumann Supporting Member

Apr 6, 2000
    Livin' in the USA
    file grooves or take it to a shop and have them file grooves. I bought a set of files from stewmac and did it myself.

3. Low_End_Theory

Low_End_Theory

Mar 5, 2008
    Cool, thanks. Hate to sound naggy, but what are your string gauges, and what kind of files did you order? Just for clarification.

4. Jo6Pak

Jo6Pak

May 2, 2007
    You can play it un-grooved for awhile and see how you like it. Some prefer it that way. Others prefer grooves. Depends a lot on your playing style. I've had them both ways and I prefer grooved. Unless you feel VERY confident about filing it yourself, I would highly recommend letting a local luthier/setup guy do it. Be advised, if you did not already know, Quan makes one with the saddles pre-grooved. I got my last one from Brian at BestBassGear. Highly recommended online shop.

5. Low_End_Theory

Low_End_Theory

Mar 5, 2008
    Well, this is good news. I was so worried about DIY filing. Thanks, Jo6Pak!:)

6. Lesfunk

Lesfunk Supporting Member

Roger Sadowsky Says that The Badass II saddles must be grooved and I believe him

7. Jo6Pak

Jo6Pak

May 2, 2007
    And what does he say will happen if they are not grooved?