1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Problems with building my Neutron

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by TheHankster421, May 24, 2011.

1. I'm new at this, first off. I've only made a couple of pedals, a Brassmaster clone, and a Booster pedal.
    Now I'm workin on my Neutron and have hit a wall. I can't read a schematic so I've been looking over the diagram on Geofex for "the schematic impaired". It's a little different from the diagram on GGG. That's the first confusing thing I came upon. So I built it for the schematic impaired and it doesn't work. Can somebody look at this diagram and tell me if it's right?
    http://geofex.com/FX_images/neutron-tbp.pdf
    If it is correct, then I think I need a new 3pdt.
    When I hook it up like the above "impaired" way, I get bypass only. I can't get an effect out of it. Some one please help me get my funk on.:confused:

2. Well, first off, you really should get to being able to read schematics, they make it easier to see what's going on, though they are tough to translate to the physical construction. With that out of the way, the switch wiring looks right to me. But you probably should check to see if anything is crossed anywhere or soldered weird. Do you have any pics of the board?

3. You can see on my switch that I've wired this both ways and back again.

4. rratajski

rratajski Commercial User

Jul 1, 2008
    Mount Laurel, NJ
    Builder for FUZZROCIOUS PEDALS
    You definitely need to remelt a lot of those solder joints. You shouldnt really see the pad or parts of the lead too much on the inside. Remelt them (slowly) and try to fire it up again, then report back!

5. Please forgive my noobiness... I know I have a lot of the basics to get down. I'm workin on it. What do you mean by lead, and inside? and is the pad the little metal disc surrounding my holes? If I have it right, it is.