Problems with octavers

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Franco1, Mar 27, 2023.

1. Franco1

Franco1

Mar 27, 2023
    Hey all
    I'm fairly new to octave pedals and have been experiencing some weird problems with them -
    I use a passive g&l p bass with seymour duncan quarter pounders and old rounwounds, nothing else. When playing through the Octavers, there are 3 repeated issues that make the octavers choke or jump:
    1) when I dig in / slap
    2) when playing open strings
    3) when playing the g and d strings around the 9th fret (+- 2 frets)
    Craziest thing is - when I lower the volume knob it gets WAY better. I've had this happen with an OC-2 (which also created a lot of distortion), aguilar octimizer and an mxr deluxe, all having roughly the same issues, so I guess that can't be the units themselves.
    Could it be that the SD quarterpounders are simply too hot, even with a passive signal path? Should I opt in for a mellower pick up or is this an inherent thing all octavers have and I should adapt my technique?
    Cheers

HolmeBass likes this.
  2. Phe

Phe

May 30, 2005
    Oulu, Finland
    At least OC-2 is notoriously finnicky with how you play it. It doesn't like slapping or open strings very much.
    For optimal OC-2 sound roll off your tone and play lightly and precisely and don't let other notes ring out.
    It works best if it's first in chain.

Zbysek, HolmeBass, Dust2Dust and 3 others like this.
  3. jdjk7

jdjk7

May 12, 2016
    Indiana, USA
    So, an octaver depends on a tracking circuit to generate the correct pitch. The tracking circuit likes notes with consistent dynamics that are strong in fundamental... digging in and slapping increases the dynamics and increases the ratio of harmonics to fundamental. Open strings have a more normal relationship between harmonic and fundamental, but for physics-y reasons, it's actually more effective to play fretted notes.