1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Problems with transcribing by ear

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bthebassplayer, Oct 11, 2019.

1. Hello everyone,

since I started playing bass when I was 14 I always had difficulties transcribing basslines by ear. When I was younger I always asked a friend to transcribe basslines for me. That friend thought me the beginnings on bass even though he was a guitar player.

the last few years, after I had a break in playing bass, I really want to do it myself but I still struggle and I am insecure about it. For example. I’m now trying to transcribe the song “Is this love” by Bob Marley and the Wailers. I figured out the first bars but then to me it gets complicated because Aston Barret uses a lot of notes in between the root notes and those are lost to my ears! Somehow it gets mixed up with the lyrics and guitar and I can’t hear them clean. I wonder if this is normal and I’m starting to doubt my ears and I would really like all of your input to get me past this point! Thanx in advance...!

BOOG likes this.
  2. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    Where are you in terms of transcription tools? Are you using any software tools?

Bthebassplayer likes this.
  3. I have an old Tascam CD player where you can slow down the music and boost the bass. I also have an IPad but I don’t know any apps or anything like that. I appreciate your option but I guess I also want to learn it totally by listening only. Or am i asking too much of myself then?

4. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    In the old days I would learn to play the part by ear then write down what I played on paper with a pencil. This was before 'slowdown without pitch change' technology really existed.