1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Professional setup, worth $100?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Robin UK, Sep 16, 2008.

1. Robin UK

Robin UK

Feb 1, 2007
    I've just bought a new set of slightly higher gauge strings for my schack unique 4 basic, and was thinking of getting the bass setup by my local luthier (as in the best shop with a workship within 2 hours driving), becuase i'm not certain of the condition of the neck (might be going abit skewed), and i'm not very experienced with setting up basses. However i just phoned them up, and they quoted me £47 (in the UK, so i guess around $100). I was abit shocked by this. Is it alot? Should i just do some research or experiment with the bass myself? or am i just being a tight ass?

2. RustyAxe

RustyAxe

Jul 8, 2008
    Connecticut
    That would be an expensive setup in my area. Half of that would be the norm. But it depends on what needs to be done. For example, a good setup includes new strings (usually). The truss rod is tweaked to get proper relief, the neck might be shimmed (if bolt on) to get a better neck angle. The saddle(s) may be raised or lowered. The pickups raised or lowered. The frets need to be checked for level. And electronics may be checked out, too.

I had all that (except new strings) done to my acoustic/electric Thunderchief bass, by a well known local luthier, and it cost me $46 USD.

3. in short, no

4. greencow

greencow

Feb 7, 2008
    Not where I live.

5. JaneBass1

JaneBass1

Jul 23, 2008
    $100 for a setup...depends on what they do

Usually for what I had paid is:
    - $10 to $20, to check the neck relief, string height, intonation, pickup height, clean bass surface
    - $40 to mess up with the nut
    - More than $40 for other work, like working with the frets or electronics