1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Proper Picking and Issues Muting Strings

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by TheBigPoppa, Aug 18, 2018.

1. TheBigPoppa

TheBigPoppa

Aug 18, 2018
    Recently, my school started a Jazz Band. Wanting to learn a new instrument I stepped up to play bass guitar. After a few days of practice, my band director told me I needed to learn plucking to play properly. So of course I started practicing, but I have been having a few issues. Firstly, I have issues muting the strings that I have played when I am descending down in note value or vertically up in string. I can't quite catch them and mute them. Also, I have issues stretching my pinky for some scales. Does anyone here have any advice or exercises I could use to improve my technique? Any assistance is appreciated.

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    Lift your finger off the note you just played.

3. vindibona1

vindibona1

Apr 18, 2015
    Big Poppa... I can appreciate your plight. But I'm going to give you the hard truth. There is no substitute for face to face private lessons, particularly at the beginning. Bad habits are easy to form and tough to break. The bad habits you learn today will hamper you tomorrow. While there are some exceptions and musical geniuses out there, most of us (me included, even though I've played trumpet semi-professionally for decades and guitar all my life) need help to develop proper technique so we can be as musical as possible.