pros and cons of guitarists who switch to bass, and people who start out on bass

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by bassoptimus, May 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hmm, i dont really have a stance on this, but i feel like i should. what would you guys say are the pros and cons about guitarists gone bassists? or people who start out on bass?
  2. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    everyone is an individual
    they're musicians either way :eyebrow:

for the record I'm a bassist forced by lack of strings in grade school to start on sax (actually recorder before that), then switched to bass, then to guitar for lessons because of lack of bass instructors... more recently some piano added to the mix and an overwelming curiousity about the mandalin...

I'm sorry, what was your point? :meh:
  3. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Yeah. Guitarrists who then go and play bass. My brother Pat plays bass (A DeArmond Pilot Pro 4) fantastic, but in a very guitar style. It works, but he doesn't really ever hear or play "counter" lines, his lines always follow the guitar.

My brother Peter plays bass fantastically. He's also extremely brilliant on guitar, and has a lot of respect for the bass (as well as a really nice 5 string Yamaha bass).
  4. verbass

Apr 26, 2004
    dayville ct
    I find that my students who have been seduced by the dark side don't understand that eventhough its similar bass is a different instrument that requires a different approach and mindset. You may blaze up and down the neck or crush the audience by doubling the guitar line but if you can't groove and show restraint you're just spinning your wheels.

besides who told them that you use a pick ???????

until later

If the future is now ..........
    What was Yesterday? :bassist:
  5. Finger Blister

Finger Blister

Jul 8, 2003