Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Prostituting myself out to bands

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Spikeh, Oct 2, 2005.

1. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings

I'm new to playing with other people, and I've REALLY got the bug for playing with others now.

I'm starting my own band, and I'm jamming with some other people who advertised for a bassist. Now... I've been asked to jam with another few bands too... I'm not sure what the unwritten "rules" are about "whoring" yourself out to multiple bands?

I don't know what kind of music I want to play yet, and I don't know what kind of people I wanna be involved with, so I'd have thought this is the best way to get my bearings in the local music scene? Noone's said anything to me yet... but it's in the back of my mind.

What do you lot think about it? Has anyone done the same?

2. christoph h.

christoph h.

Mar 26, 2001
    Germany
    play as much as you can, but try to do it with people that don't hold you back musically.

3. Experienced musicians do that all the time, I sub out with a couple different people, and play with 2 bands. Us older guys are a little more mature about it. I fill in for a guy that plays in a lot of bands too, which is why he needs a sub. Its accepted, its a business, first come, first served, I'm assuming, but it could be that a higher paying gig comes up and he has to bail, opening the door for me since some of them come up at the last minute.

Earlier in my career, however, people had a more monogamous idea of a "band". You have to be "committed", "its them or us", etc. I don't know if times have changed, or I'm just hanging with more mature people now that understand its a business, not a marriage.