Protein Powder

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Kraig99, Apr 29, 2003.

1. Alright, this is for all you fitness and nutrition buffs out there. I've been using protein powder for about the past 3 months, 2 scoops right after a workout, because I've being trying to get as much protein into my diet as possible. I've heard that to really build muscle, your body needs 1 gram of protein per pound that you weigh. I weigh about 155 and I've been getting somewhere close to that each day, but I haven't really been seeing any results, either visual or on the scale. Is protein powder worth it or am I wasting my money, and how long should it take to get serious results? Thanks!
  2. Melf

Mar 20, 2003
    Starkville, MS
    Don't take that stuff man. It's bad for you. It doesn't even do any good. Your body can only absorb so much protein every four hours, and all the excess protein just goes right to your kidneys. This will give you kidney failure when your'e older. Just stock up on protein the normal way, by eating right. It is ok to make your meals a little more protein-heavy. Don't ever force any supposed nutrition into your body that you can't get normally by eating a balanced diet.
  3. Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    Too right...

I'd also like to see you looking less at the scales. Whenever I train in the Gym, I get more muscular and stronger but barely put on an ounce. A lot of people are the same. It doesn't mean that working out is a waste of time, it just means I was never meant to look like Arnie.......
  4. When you are working out, you really shouldn't be looking at the scale too often. Your weight really depends on the time of day and how much food or water you have. It can vary quite a bit from time to time. Just work out, eat some good chicken or fish, and rest the next day. The resting day of course is when your body heals and when your muscle fibers fix themselves, to make you stronger or more toned.