Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pup Selection help

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by full_bleed, Dec 27, 2005.

1. full_bleed

full_bleed

May 27, 2005
    Arizona
    I'm looking at pickups right now for a custom that I want made. I'm looking for a very versitile pickup that will be able to wire in both series and parallel as well as switch from front coil/both coils/rear coil. For aethetics only I perfer a pickup with no exposed pole pieces but I will not rule one with them out. I wish to be able to get all 3 "standard" american tones i.e. jazz, p-bass, and musicman and more if possible. The pups I'm looking at right now are Bart CF and MM4CBC as well as Nordstrand's MM4.3 although I have no experience with these pups and have not heard any sound samples to base my selections from :( . I'm curious about bassculture pups but I can't seem to dig up much info on them. Any and all suggestionsand comments are welcome. Moderators I will be placing this thread in 3 different locations in hopes to get more responses as I know that not everyone visits the same TB sections.

2. Hookus

Hookus

Oct 2, 2005
    Austin, TX
    Well, for what it is worth, I don't think that a price tag necessarily correlates with quality. I used DiMarzio Model J's in my last bass, and they sound better than many much more expensive pups. I was purely amazed at the sound of them, very powerful, well-rounded sound. I bought them based off os SMASH's pup review in the electronics forum. And they come with a ~90 dollar price tag, not 290.

I would even be so bold as to say that careful selection of capacitor value, and for that matter the scheme of the electronics, can make a larger difference than which pup is used, for passive 'lectronics.

3. full_bleed

full_bleed

May 27, 2005
    Arizona
    Who said anything about prices? BTW I'm not looking for a jazz pup.