Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Purchasing 1st bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by porknbeans, Jul 12, 2005.

1. porknbeans

porknbeans

Jul 12, 2005
    I've been playing the drums for almost 5 years now and i've picked up some guitar stuff. Although, my passion is with drums i've always wanted to learn bass. I'm on a very tight budget $200-300. I've been reading and learning about the J basses and P basses, and the different types of wood ect. I would like some suggestions on which bass to buy. I would like to stay away from squire if i can because of the bad things i hear about them here in TB(them falling apart?). I've been looking at the Peavey Millinium BXP 5-string. Anyone heard good or bad things about this? Or used it? Anything is appreciated.

2. porknbeans

porknbeans

Jul 12, 2005
    i forgot to add. I don't want to limit my self to one style of music. I really like slap also.

3. The Nanny

The Nanny

Dec 23, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    I'd check out the ESP-LTD basses...the lower end ones are inexpensive, but they actually play nicely for the price.

And I wouldn't dismiss Squire so quickly...for sure, they aren't top quality, but they get dissed alot unfairly because they are "fender lite". Some people actually like them quite a bit.

For your first bass, with only $200-$300 budget, I wouldn't get overly picky about it. You have to play bass for a while to know what you want, and what suits your style. Along this line, I think a Squire isn't a bad option. But check out the ESP as well.

And ignore those people who will always respond "save a bit more and buy xxxx". You have to play for a while to know what suits you. Don't delay...just go out and buy, and start experiencing. No matter what you buy now, if its less that $400 you'll want to buy a new one in a year or so anyways.

4. TheNerdBass

TheNerdBass

Jun 30, 2005
    Detroit, MI