1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Purported original 66’ Jazz Bass factory custom Black color

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kirk Bryant, Dec 5, 2018.

1. My first thought when I saw this bass without seeing the price was, heavy relic, and wondered who did it. (I was searching for vintage headstocks for another reference)
    I saw the HS then clicked on the link and saw the body before checking price. (11K)
    So what do our resident Fender experts think about veracity of their claims?
    My second thought was fairly original with a refin. But it’s claimed factory original. The decal looks jankey but things were more a little more hand made then I certainly don’t know. I’ve owned 60’s J’s and while I consider myself fairly knowledgeable, I’m no expert. The shop thinks it’s all real. Personally, nowadays I’m more skeptical. Thoughts?

D6C76831-07C0-42A1-A13E-8664882CAE44.

510611D1-1688-4FBE-9E27-839B826F56C9.

1966 FENDER JAZZ BASS - FACTORY BLACK -MATCHING HEADSTOCK! VINTAGE FENDER BASS

2. Hard to tell. No photo of the heel and neck pocket. Decal looks okay.
    A bit pricey for a CBS in that condition.
    Lollipops and no binding - unsure if I seen that combination before.
    edit: Neck is from Oct 65 - so all looks legit.

Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
    DJ Bebop likes this.
  3. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2004
    West Virginia
    As far as I know, that decal looks right. They cut the "Jazz Bass" off the logo because it was black on black.

A black '66 is "one that got away" for me.

DJ Bebop likes this.
  4. s van order

s van order

Oct 4, 2012
    Delaware
    I had a '66 Jazz with lollipops and no binding.

DJ Bebop likes this.
  5. Ghastly

Ghastly

Oct 18, 2015
    Mill Valley