Pushing me to hard?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Theodeus, Mar 9, 2004.

1. Theodeus

Jan 18, 2004
    I read the "First Upright Lesson Report" thread and started thing 'mabye my teacher pushes me to hard'? I started playing upright (DB?) for about half a year ago. Im already in the VI position, if that´s what is´t called :rolleyes: I´ve got some minor problems and some major. One major is that my teacher travels at the speed of light, and so does the teaching. To add to the problems, he´s not a native swedish, and since swedish is a hard language to learn it´s not always the easiest thing to understand him... Trying to express himself fast and poorly, that´s no good combination. :meh:

He´s expecting me to play with him in one of Swedens bigger symphony orcestras in 6 months, so we´ve got work to do... Now, is that resonable after a year of playing?! :ninja:

And please, yell at me! I´ve got the lousiest selfdicipline on this planet. If isn´t the electric bass, it´s the computer or TV. I feel that i really should practise, but I haven´t had any "aha-experiense" yet. I just don´t make the effort to lug the big (4/4) bass out and play. :crying:

BTW I´m 16 years old, have played electric for 2 years and, if I´m not to selfconfident, I´m really good at it! Plays german style if that helps to =)

Peace :ninja:
  2. Pöl

May 31, 2003
    I live in Belgium, I'm 21 tomorrow and I don't have the money to buy a decent upright. If you don't like the upright, send it to me, I'll pay for the postal costs :D :D :D

No, seriously, practise man, I bet you'll be happy you did when you turn 21 (or maybe 10 years older, ... I don't know, but in the end, you'll be happy :cool: )

3. T Sony

T Sony

Mar 5, 2004
    If you find your teacher is going to quickly NOW is the time to notify him. If you proclaim playing in a symphony in 6 months is questionable to your abilities notify him of that too.