Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pyramid strings (somebody?)

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Flatwound, Jan 17, 2001.

1. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    I would like it if someone would try to characterize the sound of Pyramid flatwounds for me. I know that sound/timbre/tone is a hard thing to put down in words, but I already have a pretty good basis for comparison, having tried Fender 9050 Flatwounds, GHS Precision flats, Rotosound 66's, Thomastik-Infeld Jazz Flats, and others.

Any help would be appreciated, especially before I plunk down 50 bucks or so for a set.

2. Flatwound

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
  3. bassmanjck

bassmanjck

Jan 12, 2001
    I've been using GHS Precision Flatwounds for a few years now and I really like them. However, I just ordered a few sets of Pyramid Golds because I've heard so many good things about them. I should get them in the mail next week. I'll let you know how they sound.

4. Flatwound

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    Cool! I'll be waiting with baited breath, or something. :D Also, I notice you said you ordered "a few sets." That's like a couple hundred bucks worth, right?

I tried the Precision Flatwounds on my Precision, and they weren't bad, but I think it sounds better with Fender 9050's.

5. bassmanjck

bassmanjck

Jan 12, 2001
    Well, they weren't cheap, but I got a good price ($51.00/set) so I ordered two sets to save shipping charges, assuming I'd like them. I figure I can get rid of the second set for what I paid if I don't like them.

6. nanook

nanook

Feb 9, 2000
    Alaska
    Here it is. Pyramid Gold flats are physically a little less smooth than the chrome flats.

The sound is really somewhere in between the traditional flat and round sounds.