Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Q. re Bass Stands

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by swingfingers, Nov 1, 2002.

1. Firstly, as this is my first time posting, I want to say that I truly appreciate this sight. It's a great forum to ask questions and read others’ opinions, etc.

Onto my question. I recently moved into a tiny, crammed apartment with my fiancée and will soon be trying to fit my Tyrolean bass in it with me. As there is no corner space large enough for it to stand against and no floor space large enough for it to lie on, I am considering buying a bass stand of some sort.

After checking various sites (Lemur, Upton, B. Gollihur, etc. etc.), I have seen a few metal stands (Meisel was one), but none look particularly sturdy. I will also be keeping my bass in its Mooradian case and don’t know if any of these stands will accommodate the case. I thought I saw a wooden stand that looked much nicer advertised in the ISB rag quite a while ago but can’t find it now.

Do any of you have any experience with any of the above stands or others that you like and/or work with a thick case? Please let me know what you think of your bass stands!

Thanks!

2. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    The one on Golllihur's site looks the sturdiest that I have seen. I have one of those crappy flimsy ones and I am contantly worried the cat will knock it over or something. The only reason I haven't bought the one on Gollihur.com is cuz there is only 6 inches of clearance for the endpin, and I am one of those tall guys who needs my endpin out longer than that.

3. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur GollihurMusic.com

Mar 22, 2000
    New Joisey Shore
    Big Cheese Emeritus: Gollihur Music
    I can give you some impartial specs and thoughts about the stands I've owned or use.