QSC K12 - PA setup for Bass... Sensible? Sacrilege?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jasondb, Jul 26, 2013.

1. jasondb

jasondb

Jul 26, 2013
    Howdy!

I started playing in a 3-piece cover band, and we have a couple QSC K12s and KSub for our live sound. For the first couple gigs I tried running directly through the PA without my rig, and was really surprised at how good the bass sounded.

I've been really happy with my setup (SVT-4 Pro with PR 410 HLF), but I have been considering moving to a K12 with a Tech 21 V Bass (they have a fancy website that talks about this type of setup). I would have to sell my current rig in order to make that happen.

Part of my reasoning is that I now live on the 3rd floor with no elevator, and the cab takes 2 people to carry downstairs. I'm not ready to relegate it to the garage (I live in Florida...), so it is not practical to lug around.

I haven't been in the market to change things up for the time I've had my rig, and it appears that a lot has changed. I'm told (by "them") that more and more bassists are migrating to the kind of setup I'm talking about, but I'm not completely sold...

I would truly appreciate any thoughts or opinions, as I am truly stuck on this decision.

2. I am inches away from going that route. I love my MB212 - it's light and powerful, but I get a better sound going through the PA with A Zoom MS60B. I think with the right pre / emulator, this could be a better way to go.

3. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    A friend of mine was in a band that had all QSC and NO AMPS allowed. Everyone (even the electronic drums) ran through the PA. That band had one of the most balanced sounds of any I've heard. However, if the soundman was in a particular mood, he could reduce the bass to almost nothing (and he did that a couple of times). My friend ended up leaving the band. But, when it was done properly, the band sounded great.

4. Grissle

Grissle

May 17, 2009