QSC power amp to speaker box question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bluebyrd, May 17, 2003.

1. bluebyrd

Jun 12, 2000
    I can't search because the search function isn't working at the moment.

I just bought an Avatar CB 115H cab. Nice cab for only $267 delivered. It sounds great thru my Peavey TNT115 combo. In that configuration the entire rig is only 200 watts. The CB115H is rated at 600 watts at 4 ohms. Will running it this way damage the Avatar cab? It sounded very good last nite, but I only had a chance to try it out for about an hour. That Avatar cab is great for the price!

Also, I'm looking at the QSC RMX series of amps. They are in my price range, and the PLX series is just too expensive for me at this time. I was looking at the RMX 850 primarily. Does anyone know if this can be hooked up to a cab with two 1/4 inch jacks? Or does the pre-amp go to the cab? Sorry for the dumb questions, but I'm new at the preamp/power amp thing. If it gets too complicated, maybe I'll just try for something like a Peavey Firebass head or something similar.

Anyway, thanks for any help. I wish the search function worked! I miss it.

2. chucko58

Jan 17, 2002
    Silicon Valley, CA, USA
    I paid for all my gear myself. Well, me and MasterCard.
    You're unlikely to hurt your Avatar cab by under-powering it.

The RMX amps are great, if a bit heavy. You would need to buy or make a cable to go from the QSC's Speakon or banana outputs to your cab's 1/4" input. With just one cab, I'd go with a banana myself; it's trivial to switch from mono to bridged that way, just flip the banana plug down to the bridged outputs. The RMX 850 would be a very good match for your cab in bridged mode.
  3. bluebyrd

Jun 12, 2000
    Thanks for the info Chucko. I found that M.Friend sells a cable that'll go from banana to 1/4", or speakon to 1/4". I'll probably a couple of both. Thanks again!
  4. Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia