QSC RMX 1850HD Without Preamp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Cacklingjackyl, Mar 18, 2004.

1. I will probably buy one of these soon. However, I do not have the money for a preamp at this time. For those that have used QSC amps in the past, do you feel it is necessary to use a preamp?

I am new at this stuff so if this is a stupid question, I'm sorry.
  2. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Necessary? Yes, it is.

3. Arranger

Mar 9, 2003
    For a temporary preamp, you could use a mini-mixer such as the UB502.

Can you beat it for $40? If it craps out in 6 months, you'll have had time to save for your RBI or BMax. If you look around, you might pick up a BMax in the $225 range. Check out NorthernSound.
  4. If your guitar has active electronics and enough gain then you might be able to sneek by without one for a while. There are a few pieces of audio gear that you might have laying around that will serve until you get a proper pre-amp. 1) a graphic eq will work just fine. Not only will it add the gain you might need but also the eq. 2) bottom of the line mixer. You only need 1 channel with bass and treble. Any entry level mixer can more than accomodate those needs. Used Sansamp Bass Driver DI. Lots of guys use them as their pre-amp. jmo
  5. MascisMan

Nov 21, 2003
    Dallas, Tx
    Yeah the BMax sounds awesome on the 1850HD
  6. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    all you need is an inexpensive mic preamp. The Art TubeMP, or one of the other mic pre's like it, is good and cheap and will get it done.
  7. Thanks for the ideas. It's appreciated.