Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Quad-coils

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by AlexK, Sep 23, 2001.

1. AlexK

AlexK

Apr 10, 2001
    I'm having Dave Pushic build me a new custom bass, and I've got all the specs down except for the coil selections on the Bart quad coils I'm getting. I'm not good with electronics, so I came to ask you smart, experienced bass players for help. Dave e-mailed me the options I have for the coil selections:

1: P-Bass (treble coil up), Full Humbucking, reverse P-Bass (treble coil
    down)

2: Upper Coils , series Humbucking; Lower coils

3: Series Humbucking, Lower Coils

4: series humbucking, upper coils

5 : parallel Humbucking, upper coils, series humbucking

6: parallel humbucking, lower coils, series humbucking

7: Parallel humbucking, series humbucking

What do these mean? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Yep, definitely a job for the supermen over in Pickups!

3. I too am in the process of finalizing my specs with dave pushic, and I emailed him about the quad coil selection switches. I guess I know what will be in the reply.

somebody who knows what this stuff means, HELP!!!

4. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    Hope that helps,
    My suggestion would be to use a Series - Parallel, Upperorlower coils.
    That gives you a good range of tones. All of this depends on pickup position again.

Some manufacturers use resistors to make the output of the various coil selections similar, to reduce the differences. Ask David if he could do that so the volume differences are not as siginificative.

5. geshel

geshel

Oct 2, 2001
    Seattle
    Louis addressed the sound, I'll cover what's going on inside the pickups, if anyone cares. :)

So, some assumptions:

1. Each item listed are the possible options for each pickup?