1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Quality first bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassTroll, Aug 16, 2007.

1. BassTroll

BassTroll

Aug 16, 2007
    Hello im new:D anyways ive been playing guitar for about 3 years and about 6 months ago made the switch to bass. I'm not a fustrated guitarist (had to get it out of the way) so far ive learned a fair amount of mo-town, led zep, "easy" primus and rush bass lines...problem is i was using someone elses rig the whole time so recommend me some gear!:bassist:

to give you an idea my bass heroes (and tone heroes) are stanley, jaco, victor and geddy. I practice about 5-10 hours a day (depends if i work or not-think troll),i jam about every other day and listen to music constantly. Currently im getting into reading and bach in general. I am definitely in this for the long haul especially after watching a Return to Forever concert recently.

thanx in advance for the help

2. K-Punk

K-Punk Supporting Member

Feb 27, 2007
    PDX
    Fender jazz bass....Everyone of those guys you mentioned except Stanley is a jazz bass guy.

3. What's your price range? That'll make all the difference.

4. A fender Geedy Lee singature jazz bass. You won't ever look back.

5. Baryonyx

Baryonyx Banned

Jul 11, 2005
    Marathon Man
    If you really dig Stan you might want something with 24 frets...just a thought.

6. 73jbass

73jbass Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2004
    Ellenwood,Ga.
    I want to know how anyone can practice 5 to 10 hours a day.

7. My hands would fall off!:eek:

8. welcome to talkbass basstroll.
    sounds to me you're looking for a good allround jazz bass, since of your music preferences. what i would do is go to several stores and just try some out. also, if you have a budget you might wanna consider not going overboard with yer first bass.

9. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005