1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question about Ampeg BA115

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by poit57, Apr 30, 2010.

1. poit57

poit57

Apr 30, 2010
    Oklahoma City, OK
    At my church, I have been playing bass through a BA115 amp for several years. It was powerful enough to be heard through the whole auditorium while the other instruments were playing. A few months ago, we finished a new auditorium and got some new pieces of equipment for our PA system. Now everything is hooked up to be controlled by our soundman The problem we're having is the master volume knob on the amp also controls the volume sent via the line out jack. If we turn the amp up enough for the soundman to have a useable signal, the amp's speaker is already too loud for the soundman to have any control over the volume.

Two questions:
    1. Is there a safe way to run the amp with the speaker disconnected so that the soundman will have the necessary control?

2. Would I be better off trying to sell this amp and replace it with a head unit that can run without a speaker cab connected?

2. Put a DI before the amp? Mic the amp?

3. uaudio

uaudio

Apr 11, 2008
    Arizona
    ^+1

The standard for a setup of this kind at a church is to run your bass into a DI. Take the line out of the DI to the amp, then the balanced out from the DI to the soundboard.

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    What they said.

5. DI

6. cableguy

cableguy

Jun 4, 2009
    North Bend, WA
    Sansamp Bass DI They rule!

7. poit57

poit57

Apr 30, 2010
    Oklahoma City, OK