Question about chord substitutions

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by LiquidMidnight, Feb 5, 2003.

1. LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    Hey Mike, I've been studying up a lot on chord subs, though I'm a little confused on a few things.

First, is how it was explained to me that a mediant sub was a 3rd above the tonic. Pretty easy stuff. But the example it gave me is a C maj 7th that is subbed with a E min 7th. I studied the chords, realizing that they have a lot in common so a light bulb went off above my head. The problem is though, I've always thought that chord subs were based on reharmonizations that weren't diatonically related to the chord it was being substituted for. That's why the tritone sub seemed to make a lot of sense. An E min 7th is obviously diatonically releated to a C maj 7th. So was my way of thinking completely wrong? Can a chord sub be totally releated to the tonic chord from a diatonic stand point?

Another question I was wondering, is if it's possible to "stack" chord substitutions. For example, if I did the mediant sub with the c and played the e min. Could I then treat the E as the tonic and then do another sub off of the E.

My last question is voice leading seems to be very important with subs. Do you have any tips on creating smoother transistions?

Thanks for taking the time Mike? :)
  2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Absolutely. Substituting a VI minor for the I major goes back to classical times. In a Rhythm Changes, here is a common sub that I do.

Original: Bb Gm7|Cm7 F7|
    sub: Dm7 C#7|Cm7 B7|