1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question about chorus and noise suppressors

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Blade3dge, May 12, 2011.

1. Blade3dge

Blade3dge

May 19, 2009
    Hey guys ^_^

So I'm a bassist in a pop-punk/hardcore band (by hardcore I mean "screamo ****" not hardcore punk). So obviously it's not really the genre for heavy effects just high gain on a mostly unedited tone, what's bringing me down though is I love the sexy "studio tone" that we get when recording stuff. As I understand it (and I may be wrong) aside from Ampeg imitation another studio trick to add depth to the sound and strengthen the bass tone is by adding some chorus in to the bass, I would love to bring this through to my live performance but it seems like every chorus video clip I see is using it as some trippy effect to make a bass seem ambient rather than powerful. So my question after all of that is...

Can I use a chorus pedal to strengthen the tonal character of my bass and make it sound more full while keeping a lot of definition on the notes I play and keeping the sound reasonably "tight". I assume this would be achieved through a really fast chorus affect but I couldn't see any demos of this sort of sound out there so I'm worrying I might have just imagined the studio magic, haha. Also would you have any recommendations for me? I was looking at this one here since I'm a fan of true bypass pedals but if you want to point me in a better direction that would be great:

NEW! TC Electronic Corona Chorus FX Pedal ~W/FREE GIFT! | eBay