1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question about Effects send/return

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bohemond, Aug 2, 2012.

1. bohemond

bohemond

Nov 3, 2007
    Hi I have a Carvin Bx500 and use the send return on the back of the amp to hookup my MadProf Blueberry pedal. I would like to run a tuner or Noise gate pedal as well/ can I run either the tuner or NS thru the front input of the amp where I am plugging the bass into.? Or does that have to go thru the back as well? As you can tell I am new to using anything but the amp and one effects pedal. Thanks

2. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Supporting Member

Put all your pedals in front of the amp, don't use the effect loop.

3. really you can use either one or both. your call.

4. matante

matante

Nov 3, 2003
    Los Angeles
    On most bass amps the effects loop is line-level and usually doesn't work well with pedals. You need to hook up your pedals both ways; first through the loop, and then before the amp input. Then decide which sounds better to you.

5. bohemond

bohemond

Nov 3, 2007
    Thanks for the advice everyone

6. I would definitely run the Blueberry and the noise gate ahead of the amp, not in the loop. The tuner is your call. The loop is more for rack effects used to dealing with line level, like high end compressors or modulation/delay/reverb signal processors. But there is nothing inherently wrong with using the loop even for dirt, I would definitely try the Blueberry out in front of the amp though I bet it will be much more touch responsive to your playing.

7. recreate.me

recreate.me

Apr 2, 2010
    Ontario
    Not to derail, but why would you avoid the effects loop ? I have heard that some pedals SHOULD be placed in the loop to avoid noise in the signal chain, and become more efficient etc...