Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question about fingering on frets

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by havik180, Oct 9, 2005.

1. havik180

havik180

Oct 9, 2005
    SF bay area
    My name is Rich and I'm new to bass (2 mos.) and have yet to take lessons. I have a few books for beginers but they contradict eachother on what fingers to use on the fret playing hand.

One says to use all 4 fingers (one per fret per string)the other says use all 4 fingers but the ring and pinkie play the same fret on the same stringas one, making it more like 3 fingers.

Which is right ? or are they both legitamate ways to play ? do any of you use the ring/pinkie combined method ? which one should I use ?

Thanks

2. Hello Rich
    I do the '1-fret-per-finger' thing when I'm practicing, but when I'm playing(in a group setting)I tend to bunch my 3rd & 4rth fingers together(most of the time). You have to move your hand around a bit more, but stretch less. There's no set-in-stone 'law' that says one method is always better that the other, & I imagine most players mix it up. The '3'-finger method is kind of upright(Bass violin)technique. BTW, welcome to the low end! This is a graet site for info- I've been fooling around w/bass for 27 years & still learn a lot here, as well as find a lot of entertainment.
    Steve

3. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

(Just my sole point of view on this topic)